Skip to main content

National Gallery

National Gallery

Erected in the heart of the West End in order to be accessibly by all, the National Gallery houses some of the most famous paintings in the world, by masters such as Rubens, Velazquez, Monet, Van Gogh.

The National Gallery has flourished since its inception. In 1824 The House of Commons was persuaded to buy 38 major paintings, including works by Raphael and Rubens, and these became the start of the national collection. Today the gallery has more than 2,300 paintings produced in the Western Europe painting tradition.

The Collection. The National Gallery’s paintings are mostly kept on permanent display. The Collection spans late-medieval times on the early 20th century, covering Renaissance Italy and the French Impressionists. There are works by artists such as Botticelli, Leonardo, Monet and Goya, and highlights include Van Eyck’s Arnolfini Portrait, Velazquez’s Rokeby Venus, Raphael’s The Madonna of the Pinks and Van Gogh’s Sunflowers. Gallery Guide. Most of the collection is housed on one floor divided onto four wings. The paintings hang chronologically, with the earliest works ( 1200-1500) in the Sainsbury Wing. The West, North and East wings cover 1400-1600, 1600-1700 and 1700-1930. Lesser paintings from all periods are on the lower floor.

Experience gallery



At a glance

  • Activity

    Culture, Sightseeing
  • Address

    London, Trafalgar Square WC2
  • Underground

    Charing Cross, Leicester Sq, Piccadilly Circus.

"Houses some of the most famous paintings in the world"

You may also like